15 Year Lineboat Chief Desires License

Good Morning All. First post here in your community and I am looking for mariners that may have been in a similar situation as me to give some advice.

I have been working on lineboats for 20 years, with over 15 years in the Engine Room Department. I have always desired to be licensed but have let others talk me out of it or talked myself out of doing it in the past. I am 40 years old now and wish to finally go ahead and take the steps towards sitting for my DDE exam. Subchapter M requirements of having a Merchant Mariner Credential with Tankerman PIC endorsement was a big factor in my decision to do this. I already have this credential, as well as the legal and professional responsibilities of the Tankerman endorsement now, so why not go ahead and begin the process? It has been a “controversial” topic for discussion among my fellow engineers at my company. The main excuses are “They don’t pay us any more money for it,” “Then you are lawfully responsible for things that normally would be company liability,” “We don’t need them, so why spend your own money to get them?” etc.

I need to obtain my Basic and Advanced Firefighting and have been searching for the best price throughout the country. Location really isn’t any issue for me but the biggest cost will be lodging. I have not managed to find any that include lodging in their course cost. After that, I plan to take the license prep course offered by The River School in Memphis, TN. It is right at one hour from my home and I can drive back and forth each of the 14 days.

I have many questions but the main question is the difficulty of the exam. There will be a lot of different systems on this exam that we do not have on lineboats and I am wondering if it was hard for some of you to grasp the concepts of systems that you were not familiar with.