What good is a DDE 1000hp

What good is a DDE 1000hp?

What type of boats are out there that such a license would be relevant?

there are a few shady tug companies where you could go with that license.

1 Like

There are also companies that don’t even require that much of their “engineers”. Very few boats are large enough to require a DDE license, but less than 1000hp. If a boat is actually large enough to legally require a licensed engineer, they are either over 4000hp or the company wants you to have a Chief (ltd). It will be a better use of ones application fee to just get another year of sea time for the DDE 4000. I don’t know what the difference in the tests are, but I can’t imagine they are much different.

I’m not an engineer, but I suggest: get every USCG license you can, as soon as you can. Do not worry about the trivial (half day of pay) application fee. You will be more employable at a higher day rate with a license even if a license is not technically required. I do not know about the USCG engineer license tracks, but its usually faster and easier to upgrade from a USCG license that you hold, than to get an original license. With DDE 1000hp license it should not be too hard to find unlicensed deckhand/engineer jobs on crew boats that are around 4000 hp.

1 Like

If you work on a ship with less then 1000 hp then your are running the risk of having a HP limitation on your 3rd AE. IIRC QMED time on a ship under 1000hp doesnt count twords your 3rds. I say get one more year of sea time as a QMED and then test for your DDE4000, C/E OSV 4000hp 3000gt, and your Engineer OSV Unlimited HP. You could then run as an engineer on any OSV under 3000gt or be chief on the smaller OSV’s under 4000 HP.