Switching to MET

Longtime lurker, first time poster here.

I’m an incoming transfer MT student thinking about switching to engine. When I was applying, I went back and forth between MT and MET. I ended up choosing deck because I was already coming in with 30 units and when visited the campus, a couple of cadets told me about the three-year track. The more I think about my future and talking to many alumi’s, MET is just a better route. Especially in the future once I have a family and wanting to go shoreside.

So I have a couple of questions about the major.

1. Is it easy to switch from MT to MET? I’m thinking about emailing them before school starts about switching now but I don’t know if they’ll approve.

2. How difficult is the MET major? I know difficulty is subjective but compared to MT, is it that more difficult? The last math I took was Pre-Cal which I got a B in and Statistics which I got an A in. I looked at the curriculum sheet and I have all the GE done except for the math and science. I’ll be averaging 15 units a semester if I complete it in 4 years.

Thanks for any help!

I’m entering my senior year as an MET.

[I]1. Is it easy to switch from MT to MET? I’m thinking about emailing them before school starts about switching now but I don’t know if they’ll approve.[/I]

It’s been done. I can’t speak to its ease. Ideally you’d spend your first semester taking classes that would end up benefitting your major, but wouldn’t be irreparably set back otherwise. There is a seven semester progression (Calc 1, Calc 2, Physics 2, Circuits, Electronics, Electromechanical, and Power Gen) that you should start no later than spring of your freshman year for an MET. Both programs are impacted. Call/email now and try. Engineering Technology faculty chair is mstrange@csum.edu. If you are unable to change your major for the fall, it’s possible you’d be able to change departments for the following semester.