Starting a Boat Tour Business (Manhattan, Hudson River)

Hello,

I am trying to gauge the start up-costs for launching a boat tour service in Manhattan on the Hudson River and then what revenues would need to be brought in to make it a profitable business. As a background, I am just a guy in his 20s who day dreams about starting his own business but really has no idea what it would take. I work in the shipping industry (commercial side) and love the water. Rather than start a digital business, I am more interested in physical businesses and my mind immediately wanders to the waters around NYC (i.e. running a tour business on the Hudson, maybe a ferry service from Nyack to Manhattan, etc). One can dream, and I realize this would probably require a ton of capital (and most likely is not realistic)

Below are the expenses I am trying to define, any advice on where to retrieve this information is appreciated.

Start-Up Expenses
Legal
Marketing
Insurance
Licenses & Permits (NYC GOVT, Coast Guard, etc)
Assets (vessels)
Other

P&L (once business is launched)
Gross sales (ticket sales)
Other Income
Total
Staff Cost
Bunker
Repair and Maintenance
Other
Total
Income Tax
Net Income

what is this? you want us to write your business plan for you?

HELL! writing my own business plans is work enough and I am not feeling like writing yours as well…

do your research and you’ll find the answers you seek but you’re dreaming if you think we are all simply ready to do your work for you

You need to find a Norwegian business partner. The Norwegians are the only ones that know how to properly run a boat business. They will also have all the connections you need for a state of the art tour vessels.

3 Likes