Sliding Paddle Propulsor (SPP)

I am a marine engineer and lecturer in maritime school. A couple of years ago I have carried out a “theoretical and experimental study of a SPP device” a patented design of marine propulsor inspired from paddle wheel system. following an abstract submission, I have been invited to submit an article to the Symposium on Marine Propulsors however the article is still lacking to draw the basic characteristics of this particular device.You can see the summary of this study in the link below.

Therefore, I am seeking any opportunity to carry out more research and experiment on the Sliding Paddle Propulsor, as well as to build solution if any to better waterproofing.

Best Regards
A.Hini

watched the video and think the whole thing looks quite STOOPID…whatever is the point of this?

sorry to burst your bubble but are you seriously a lecturer in marine engineering? I would think such a contraption as this would be more akin to a junior high school science project…

Thanks for watching. I 'd be very grateful to you if you could explain what is STOOPID in this work, especially the scientific meaning of STOOPID. regards

1 Like

I would also suggest you might make a query at boatdesign.net, where many naval architects, hydrodynamicists and the like are in attendance.

Cheers,

Earl

1 Like

I think the Romans beat you to it by a couple of thousand years and theirs was probably more efficient because they didn’t have a bunch of moving parts to retract the blades to what? Reduce air drag?

Besides, hauling enough extension cord to go anywhere might be beyond the capabilities of paddle wheel boat.

The question I have is why? I’m trying to think of situations where this would be superior to currently available propulsion systems. Your post seems to be fishing for research dollars so that you can investigate a solution to a problem that you haven’t defined.