SIU unlicensed apprentice program

i want to become a marine engineer, i have been working as a deckhand on yachts for a few years so i understand the life at sea. now i want to become an engineer and i want to know if the SIU unlicensed program is good for me im 25 and free as a bird with a strong will to learn.

The short answer is yes, it is one way to start. Use the search function at the top right hand of the page and type “SIU Apprentice Program” and you will see a good number of threads about the program. Some asking the very same question.

That’s funny …

5 Likes

Not trying to discourage you going into SIU but also look into attending an academy

whats the advantage of academy over SIU ?

i know that i have it very easy on a 300 foot yacht, lots of shore time, good pay and hot chicks as crew mates

1 Like

Bro the Academy is exactly like a Yacht! All the shore leave you can handle, 5 Star Grub and chicks are 3/1. You don’t have enough arms to put around them.

Also in between all the rippin’ and a tearing with determination you can walk away with a 3/AE in 3-ish years.

You will hear both sides but an academy gets you a degree and is faster to a license. Downside is you pay for it without making money. However I made twice as much my first year than my education cost

1 Like

Just stay where you are on large yachts. The SIU would be a total waste of time for you. Unlicensed commercial shipping would also be a big disappointment.

1 Like

How do you get into working on yachts, and why do you want to leave? Seems like a nice lifestyle with an opportunity for good pay. I’m looking at the license requirements and it looks like they have different ones than the rest of the industry.

Do you take the necessary training classes then go to a place like Fort Lauderdale and hope to get hired as a deckhand?

In most cases, more than anything else, you need the right personality, appearance, and manors. Or very good personal contacts.