SF State MBA vs CMA MBA

Just want to rant for a moment.
I spent 5 years enlisted in the Coast Guard. I have a 100 ton and all the certs I’ve ever needed. I have four AA degrees, an undergrad in management, and a Masters in Business. I’ve worked as a commercial diver, a Dockmaster, and a charter captain, for a total of 15 years on the water paying taxes. After my second child was born, and Bush Jr sign the post 911 Gi Bill into action, I decided to go to school. CMA was my first choice, though I couldn’t stand the thought of going to sea and leaving the kiddos behind at such a young age. So I continued to work on the water and I put myself through 7 years of school… Now, and I graduated over a year ago, I am stuck competing with CMA guys at every interview I go to. My MBA is garbage in the maritime industry. The CMA guys I know, who have no experience on the water other than with what they did at school, are out there raking in 6 figures a year. Well fuck.

It feels good to get that out.

Where is your MBA from? How do you have so many degrees and still work?

Lots of people have MBA’s these days. The 2000’s were the years of “everybody get’s an MBA”. Pieces of paper aren’t always as important as the saleswoman (admissions people) make them out to be…just how it is.

Pedigree matters in the real world. Academy grads carry a certain respect due to history of their schools. 1 degree, fulltime = approx 4-5 years to obtain at an academy (plus summers).

An MBA still means a lot in an office, even at a shipping company. They just don’t mean much as far as officers onboard go. Are you now trying to sail? If so, your real problem is that shipping really sucks right now and there are almost no jobs to be had. Have you joined a union yet? How are you trying to find work?