Rookie for GOM, any pointers?

This is a great site, w/ outstanding information
I’m from the Mid-Atlantic area.
I have an OUPV, Masters 50 Inland,
TWIC, Passport, driver’s license and a college degree.
I’ve been reading here while taking classes and studying.
I just sent my paperwork off to WVA for:
MMD, STWC95, AB Special, Lifeboat, RFPNW (lookout only)

When these come back(March maybe, I hope.) I plan to heed the advice here
and head down to LA w/ resume in one hand and bags in the other.
I’d like to work in the rig supply/ crew boat field.
I’ve got a list of a dozen or so companies and will, e-mail, fax, call
my resume and set up interviews first.
Coat & tie for the interviews and Carhartt’s & Grunden’s in the bags.
I plan on being persistent and I’m confident and determined.
I read the list from capt anonymous and have most of that stuff already…
I don’t know if I really want to be the FNG walking down the pier w/ his
his ultra soft sheets and fluffy pillow. So I may have to suck up a little discomfort.
<O:p
http://www.gcaptain.com/forum/showthread.php?t=409
couple questions?
What’s a “float coat”
What do employers provide? Work vest ? helmet?
Any other advice or instruction or comments??
<O:p
Hope my Rookie season goes as well as Joe Flacco’s!!
T

No matter what you do, you will be the FNG. Especially coming down with a college education and from the northeast. A “float coat”, or at least what I know one to be is a winter coat that is also bouyant, taking the place of a PFD.

Remember, this isn’t “The Deadliest Catch”. Most of the year the Gulf is pretty warm. Just don’t sweat the small stuff. The biggest adjustment, I think, that anyone will have to make is being away from friends/family and loss of privacy.

A float coat is a USCG approved Type III PFD that doubles as a stylish jacket that you can use to impress your shipmates (and the girls), and also it will keep you afloat should you really be a FNG and fall overboard.