Qualifications

Pardon my observations and questions but I’m curious…are we (the maritime industry) suffering the same cabotage issues as everyone else (the airline industry)?
I consider the maritime and aviation industry business as almost parrallel. We haul people and property from here to there and have to navigate and communicate in all kinds of weather, environments, and other conditions, often man-made.
Why are the requirements so extremely different? If the general public knew what the standards for airline pilots were the airlines’ loads would be a lot lighter! The requirements for Master 500 Tons Near Coastal are MUCH more stringent than a commrcial pilot or even “Airline Transport Pilot”, which is. supposedly, the highest grade an airplane pilot can achieve.
I have lots of time and experience in both industries and I can say without any reservation that the maritime standards and requirements are far in excess of aviation requirements. Whether one should be raised or the other loweredt is open to debate. I just hope that the standaeds are upheld for everyone…not just the lowest bidders.
I think the maritime side is getting screwed, but that’s just my opinion.
Nemo

I was in the trucking arena for a number of years and I see the same thing as you do Capt Nemo…Trucks are regulated by CFR’s and have similar rules as the maritime industry, but the maritime rules are much more excessive…
I 've often wondered why? I guess 80,000 lbs of freight with a moron behind the wheel is acceptable on our public highways even if the moron is not here legally…The licensing process is a joke compared to what it takes to even get an AB …