Modern Management or the Command System?

Hi folks. Allwyn from Australia here. Would like to push in a query here to professional mariners. This is focussing on modern ship management procedures on board today. I have been a Marine Engineer and now work on fleet safety and quality management.

In my dealings with the fleet, i see complicated anti pollution regulations require compliance and understanding mostly from the Chief Engineer. Most if not all Captains do not understand the equipment involved or what goes into making and keeping the ship IOPP or IAPP compliant. At the management level i hear a lot of frustration and complaints about Captains not being able to understand and comprehend basics and thus inadvertantly or advertantly marginalizing support that the Chiefs need. For that reason we implemened a direct hotline for the Chief to the Office without the need to go through the Captain which also was for many a frustrating experience again.

Today everything on board a Merchant ship is an engineering operation. It is impossible and beyond the scope for Ship Captains knowledge or training to know how ships move, how power is created, how water is generated, how fuel is centrifuged, how hydraulic systems work, how safety, backup and emergency buses are linked as systems, how sewage is processed and made harmless before discharge or what goes into the complexities of discharging cargoes using onboard gear etc…

Anything going wrong in these, or literally one can say on the ship is related to some Engineering aspect. Ship Captains do not have the abiliy, skill sets for analytical and higly specialized troubleshooting work that endanger vessels all the time, let alone comprehend the redundancy factor for equipment or spares on board that is absolutely essential for the safe running of the vessel.