Merchant shipping software idea?

Hi everyone, I’m a software engineer looking to build something.

For those of you with experience in merchant shipping, what could make your job 5x easier or make a cost 5x cheaper?

Regards,
Josh

My job would become much easier and more enjoyable if I were paid 5x more than I am now.

Is there an app for that?

7 Likes

A replacement for Waypoint for Windows would be nice

2 Likes

Why would you want anything like waypoint for windows now that you have ECDIS, and similar cheap software for tablets, phones, and computers.

I still send AMVER reports, noon reports, need to demonstrate active passage plans for port state / auditors. Maybe the next ship will have a modernized / networked ECDIS but right now it’s fairly bare bones. Waypoint did this seamlessly and a modern voyage planning alternative would be nice.

3 Likes

An app that notifies you of all the required paperwork by geolocation. (In Port you have this this and this… Offshore, this this this… Going into Port x? You need this this and this.)

Essentially, what the books tell you but instead you get a push notification…

Might be a bad idea… Who knows

2 Likes

A member of MMP recently created this tutorial YouTube video. Found it on bridge deck.org.

1 Like

The navigation data at the waypoint layer is in convenient format to manipulate for various other uses.

It’s useful to be able to Calculate ETAs, DTG, speed required and so forth independent of the bridge. The waypoints can easily entered into an stand-alone GPS for back-up. The printed out waypoint list posted on the bridge is the “official” route so to speak, that which everything else is checked against.

Also unlike the ECDIS all the routes for the last 20 years are safely stored in my possession in easy to search format. It’s far quicker to start with an old route than create one from scratch.

I did set up my office computer to use WP on windows 10 but it’s not the ideal solution.