Master's Program in International Transportation Management at SUNY Worth it?

Hello Everyone,

I will be entering the Master’s Program in International Transportation Management w/ U.S. Coast Guard License at SUNY Maritime College. A little summary of me: I graduated with a bachelors of science degree in Kinesiology at California State University, Fullerton with several years of work experience under my belt. I have decided to make a career change to the maritime industry. I plan to sail for at least 5 years. After that, I will gauge whether I want to go shore-side or continue onward to a captain role.

1. What are the advantages of graduating with an M.S. w/ license verses someone with a bachelor’s degree w/ license?
  2. Is it difficult to obtain deck officer job after graduation or does the school help provide connections to your first job into the industry?
  3. Is there advantage to having a master’s degree when working shore-side? or is sea time experience the only factor?
  4. What kind of resources are available at SUNY to maximize my employability and student experience? What should I expect upon graduation?
  5. Is it difficult to juggle a part time job with the curriculum workload?
  6. Is there a faster or less expensive method to becoming a third mate officer?

Apologies in advance for the cluster of questions or if any of the terminologies are butchered. I am new to this field and website so any helpful input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

1. Not much advantage with a MS as opposed to a BS when it comes to sailing. Your first few sailing jobs all that matters is whether you have a license.

2. The school does have a decent Career Center, that being said, the labor market is kinda shitty right now.

3. When it comes to shoreside work in the Maritime Industry the masters’s will help. Sailing experience is also highly desirable though.