Maritime Law school degrees?

I am currently a student at The State University of New York (SUNY) Maritime College. After graduation I would like to go to law school and eventually practice maritime/admiralty law. I was wondering what are some good marine law schools?

[QUOTE=Frank Fontaino;174767]I am currently a student at The State University of New York (SUNY) Maritime College. After graduation I would like to go to law school and eventually practice maritime/admiralty law. I was wondering what are some good marine law schools?[/QUOTE]

Any law school you can get into and can afford. Admiralty is not really something you are going to specialize in at law school, you will specialize with your experience after law school, and possibly as an intern/law clerk while in school. So I would look for a school that is located in a major port and will give you the opportunity to clerk/intern in an Admiralty firm. I went to school in Boston, not really a major port but I was able to get work as a clerk in a maritime firm and started from there.

Most law school s only have one or possibly two maritime law courses, the only exception is Tulane. Tulane does havea fair number of maritime law courses and has a good reputation for admiralty. Try getting in touch with Jacob Shisha(SUNY '80, a classmate of mine). He went to Tulane and possibly give you some info on their program.

[QUOTE=jdcavo;176011]Any law school you can get into and can afford. Admiralty is not really something you are going to specialize in at law school, you will specialize with your experience after law school, and possibly as an intern/law clerk while in school. So I would look for a school that is located in a major port and will give you the opportunity to clerk/intern in an Admiralty firm. I went to school in Boston, not really a major port but I was able to get work as a clerk in a maritime firm and started from there.