Maritime Academy questions

Hello all,<br><br>I’m a high school student, and I’ve been looking into maritime academies as I’m interested in becoming a deck officer. I’ve opted to go with a state academy as apposed to the USMMA because of the absense of any ties to military service. Personally, making a commitment to the Merchant Marine lifestyle as well as the Navy Reserves for years to come that early on in life is too great of a decision for college student should be making. So that leaves me with the state academies, which is just about as far as I’ve gotten in my search as I don’t really know of each school’s pros and cons. I was hoping you guys would be able to fill me in on each academy’s quirks and maybe compare and contrast them as well. What makes each stand out as unique?<br><br>As of now, I’m leaning (slightly) towards Mass Maritime, even though I have no real reason to do so other than the fact that I’m from a Boston suburb and the tuition would be slightly lower for me.<br><br>Thanks in advance!