Looking to get into the GOM. A couple of questions

<p class="MsoNormal]Hey Guys,

<o:p> </o:p>I am hoping to get some insight into how best to get started in the GOM. Of course I’ve read through great previous posts, but everyone seems to have a little different background. I hold a 2nd issue master 500grt oceans with AB unlimited via hawsepipe. I’ve mostly run yachts in the past, but most recently ran a 43 meter survey ship out of Singapore/Indonesia. I’m a bit burned out on yachts, and looking for more time off than a month a year, as I have a place in the <st1:country-region><st1:place>Philippines</st1:place></st1:country-region> where I like to spend my down time. I have great boat handling skills, I’m confident but not cocky and a hard worker. I have contact info on all the companies others have recommended here plus more, and I’m about to head over to look for work in a couple of weeks. My questions are:<o:p></o:p>
<div style="text-align: left;]1. Where do I start? Emails, fax and phone? Or fly into <st1:city><st1:place>New Orleans</st1:place></st1:city>,<st1:city><st1:place>Houston</st1:place></st1:city>, or <st1:city><st1:place>Mobile</st1:place></st1:city>, rent a car and start stopping in head offices? Anyone hear of companies presently hiring?

1. Are there any agencies that are worth contacting? I don’t mind paying if it leads to something good.</div>
    <p class=“MsoNormal” style="text-align: left;]<span style="color: rgb(0, 0, 127);]3. I wouldn’t mind getting into towing, but I have no experience or ticket for it. Is there any reason for a company to want to give me a TOAR and training? As per Capt.Lee’s past post, is it correct that I will need 30 days training (90 w.rivers) and the completed toar to receive MOT? I would work as mate, but I’m not too keen on working AB very long unless it was sure to lead to MOT in a good company like Chouest.</span><o:p></o:p>