LCS Main Engine casualty

Interesting article on the engineering casualty suffered on the USS Freedom. All these studies out, yet the simple explanation to me is a serious lack of knowledge and focus on what’s important.

1 Like

Hot and heavy terminology from the San Diego Tribune.

But in all seriousness, it’s bizarre that the Navy doesn’t see the need for a dedicated engineering officer track. If you want to try to push performance with reduced manning and modern technology, seems like you might want to make being an engineer a full career path vs. a temporary assignment

1 Like

It always pissed me off when someone would ask what I did for a living then ask how long before I’m Captain. There was always a confused look on their face when I said nope, I’m at the top of where I can or want to go, only to find out they used to be in the Navy.

For years, I have been thinking and saying the same thing. Why don’t they have career Engineering Ratings and Officers! It’s like every other thing, just a step in the ladder to promotion!

1 Like

Because the swamp of “tradition” in which they are mired was flooded with swashbuckling heroes on the decks of sailing ships.

There are no heroes in the machinery spaces, just the unknowns, dead or alive who saved the ship.

After viewing the video, the problem became obvious. The budding admirals in the room only have a single row of medals!

Even this teenage E-3 airdale has accumulated more than those high ranking instructors!

Seriously though, reading that article just leaves this engineer shaking his head over the level of incompetence, stupidity, and arrogance at all levels. Except for the one enlisted guy with the balls to tell the “chief” what would happen, the whole lot need to be shitcanned. The Navy’s problems are not restricted to the few dozen wannabe admirals on the bridge at any time, they aren’t doing any better in the machinery spaces.