If you could start all over... (new maritime careers)

… what career path would you take?

<br><br>I’m 30 y/o and finally getting around to listening to what I think my heart is telling me I aught to do. I’m moved by the container shipping industry; I’ve got no experience in this field, and I’m not a mariner. Ultimately, I think I’d love to work in the operations of a container/terminal port somehow. But for now I’m open to perhaps any kind of involvement I can get in the indusry.

<br><br>Some career paths are generally straightforward. You want to work in field X, you acquire knowledge and skills (school etc), impress someone by demonstrating you can do X very well, and you start your work. You want to be a dentist, you go to school and get your license. You want to be a lawyer, you go to school and pass the bar exam. Logistics and maritime careers? Not so clear to me…

<br><br>Starting from scratch, without going to an academy, what are some entry points into maritime fields?

<br><br>Does anyone here have first-hand (or second?) knowledge about the SIU entry-level (non-veteran) program?

<br><br>Thanks for reading.

<br><br>malachi7608

<strong>Guest:</strong>

malachi,

Interesting topic. I’m actually thinking about the same thing. I’m 34, and getting into a field I have no experience or background in. Change in family status is the reason (marriage). My move will be more in the Container shipping (land based) industry in particular.

What type of work can we get as a “newbie” in the business, without having to live on minimum wage?

Where’s the best place to start?

chris

Chris, I think we should talk. Both of your questions are what I’m currently dedicating myself to full-time. Email me

malachi7608 at gmail dot com

If I could start all over I would have been a GYNECOLOGIST! Yes, I would be willing to take the good with the bad. I would strive to be the very best!

Hi Folks,