Has anyone sailed with Mercy Ships?

I received an email today from Mercy Ships (see link)

http://www.mercyships.org/the-experience/our-field-services/africa-mercy

I’m curious if anyone here has sailed with them?

Or in any other volunteer capacity?

I’d love to do it- but can’t afford to take off for a few months- but maybe in the future…:slight_smile:

I was thinking about it and I knew there was no pay but when I studied their website I found that not only do they not pay you, YOU have to pay them!

Yeah- I saw that:(

I’d love to volunteer- but can’t afford to “pay to work” right now.

Maybe next year…

knew a AB thru my chruch that did this…6 months on I believe…cost was rt air fare, r&b, insurance, personal items…cost was $1k p/m more or less…the man was devote so my chruch assisted…I believed he married a nurse from the Neatherlands and now resides there.

I have sailed with a couple of guys who have worked there. One was truly involved with the church and gave freely. The other was pathetic and wanted to hit on the nurses. Both of them succeeded in their missions.

Tankerchief,

the second guy I may have known…he sailed deepsea I work “boats”…man did seem a little lonely but sincere to his mission…I suspect if he had other motives he was not the first…seems like a place to find a “good” women…might have something there…I might try it myself out someday…sure beats most of the alternatives.