Gulf Coast job

I have a 100 ton Master NC and have been trying to get a job in the gulf on either a crew boat or supply boat. The thing that stumps me is that no one wants me because I want to be 1099. Seems like if they didn’t have to pay insurance or any benefits they would jump all over that. I’m a retired firefighter with numerous certifications from EMT to Haz Mat Tech. Also have extensive UW salvage experience of sunk boats and planes and am a PADI Instructor with over 5000 dives. I guess I’m just puzzled…any suggestions from the guys that have been down there?<br><br>divedog@aol.com

Legally, they’re not going to allow a subcontractor (1099 or otherwise) to take a multi-million dollar piece of equipment for a ride in the GOM. <br><br>Are you willing to post the necessary P&I coverage, Pollution and Liability coverages, etc., in case you tear up one of their boats, or hurt, maim, or otherwise cause the demise of one of their “real” employees? First, I don’t think you could afford the insurance, nor are there going to be too many companies that are going to go through the legal wranglings and hoops to create the necessary paperwork and indemnifications for one employee with no track record in the industry, let alone that particular company.<br><br>My suggestion to you would be, since you’re training shows you’re cognizant of safety and safety programs, is that you go work for one of the majors, and see just what is at stake before you “stump” yourself much further.<br><br>Does that answer your question?

I have a suggestion…denounce your government, start your own country where you are exempt of all the rules that govern the rest of us.