GMLA Question

Going to visit GLMA next week, and possibly start in August in the deck officer program as they have a few spots open. I have a BS degree and have considered SUNY, Maine, MITAGS. I want to sail blue water but also know having a business background is good as well, so the MS program at SUNY would fit but I would have to start in January IF I got in. Knowing their requirements I do not have the minimum GPA mainly because I was a science major, so I’d have to do very well on the GRE. I also would have to take all the business prereqs. So I would be taking a risk in applying and possibly not getting in. Talked to Maine their full this year and I’d have to stay their at least 3 years to get the license which is fine, but thats another year to wait. I like the program at GLMA and the option of getting a BS in Business Admin. and having the option of great lakes sailing seems good but is GLMA really just a academy for great lakes sailing? I’ve read posts saying GLMA is a “less” of a academy, Why? Is looked upon differently by blue water companies? Because its not regimented? Because they use partner schools for the business classes? I may be over thinking this because my goal is the license, but I want to make the best decision possible. I’m 25 been out of school almost 3 years, for the past 2 I’ve been working on western rivers towboats which sucks and want to get the ball rolling on getting my 3rd mate license. Thanks in advance for any input and advise.

I have seen a couple GLA grads sailing out deep sea.I also had a cadet from thier about 4 years ago. He showed up with a full beard just a few days after school ended. I have heard that recently they are leaning towards a more regimented core.

There’s a GLMA cadet posting on this site, and is looking to go blue water. You should be able to do a little searching here to come up with his name, and then PM him.