Gene Scandurra

I have been looking into getting into the maritime industry, I have no previous experience working onboard vessels of any kind. I live in Montana currently. I know that I need the TWIC the MMC, a passport, a physical, a drug test and Steve training to be eligible for work. I was searching the Internet on how to get a job on a ship and I came across gene scandurras website Be a merchant marine.com. He charges 1200 dollars for his services. And says that he will walk you through the process of getting your credentials and finding employment. I was wondering does anybody on here know anything about him? Is he a scam? If anybody on here has ever used his service is he worth it? If anybody on here knows anything about him your knowledge would be appreciated thanks.

Did you ever find any info regarding Gene Scandurras? I fount the same website and I am also interested in working in the maritime industry.

I don’t know anything about that particular guy, but it sounds like a scam to me. I find it hard to believe that anyone at any price could give you $1200 worth of help at this time.

At this time, jobs are very hard to get even for the most experienced mariners with strong credentials. Many people are out of work. Many people have taken 50% pay cuts. Many people are working in lower positions. Many people are working a lot less than normal.

Read carefully, his fee is $1200 IN ADDITION to the approximate $1300 of USCG fees and courses.

I agree with @tugsailor, it’s a rough job market out there and $1200 seems to be expensive for the product offered. I believe that most license consultants charge no more than $500 to help mariners with very complex upgrades.

Lol!!!