EL FARO Data Recorder Found

Let’s see what happens next.

http://www.ntsb.gov/news/press-releases/Pages/PR20160426b.aspx

On the NTSB site.

I hope they’re able to recover worthwhile information. I can only imagine how hard this will be on the families of the crew.

My name is Matthew K. Smith and I am a student at The State University of New York (SUNY) Maritime College. I am currently in my sophomore year studying International Transportation and Trade. The El Faro case is one that I am researching for a school project and I was wondering if anybody can get me up to speed with this conversation topic pertaining to the El Faro Data Recorder finding. I was able to read some of the previous comments but not all, so if anybody could please catch me up I would very much appreciate it.
Thank you,
Matthew K. Smith

Well done to all involved.

Good job! Hopefully the VDR is not damaged during the violent sinking of the ship so that the data can be read after the recovery. Fingers crossed…

Finding and retrieving something slightly larger than a coffee can 3 miles down is no small feat. Congrats to WHOI and team. If the bridge audio is salvageable and released this will be tough on a lot of people. I admit I’m probably going to need something to help me sleep.

[QUOTE=salt’n steel;183757]Finding and retrieving something slightly larger than a coffee can 3 miles down is no small feat. Congrats to WHOI and team. If the bridge audio is salvageable and released this will be tough on a lot of people. I admit I’m probably going to need something to help me sleep.[/QUOTE]

Based on my personal experience, retrieving a known object is pretty easy with the right equipment. Even at that depth.

^^^ True.
With the right equipment and enough money pretty much anything can be accomplished.

Hopefully there will be some recoverable data. It is interesting that during the investigation hearings no former employees [there are a lot] were called to testify by the investigators.