DP, Towing, Too many options!

I’m a cadet at GLMA.

I look at this forum religiously and it makes me wonder… what to specialize in when I graduate, and, how do I tailor my years in school to help me do what I want.

So…

How did you figure out what you wanted to do in the marine industry?
and
Is their any merit in trying to specialize while at the academy. (who to go on my sea project with?)

EDIT: Also, I’m thinking I would want to live in MI and commute to the GOM or wherever. How much (Roughly) does a DPO make? Would I work as a mate also if onboard a DP vessel?

Thanks in advance.

"How did you figure out what you wanted to do in the marine industry? "
Here are my priorities, in order:

1. How much time off will I get?
  2. When I’m at work am I in a safe and healthy environment?
  3. Does the company provide quality equipment and proper training?
  4. Does management walk the walk as well as talk the talk?
  5. How much will I be paid?
    Ask yourself if you want to be a boat handler or if you want to ride ships across oceans and then watch as the pilot does the fun stuff.
    In the GOM you’ll work 2 for 1. Most everywhere else you’ll work 1 for 1. But, at the inception of a maritime career you probably want to work as much as possible. In the GOM you’ll get a lot of good sea time, most likely 12 hour days, which is important early in your career while you’re upgrading. If you’re on a 28/14 rotation you can get a year’s sea time every calendar year. Not bad. But then it gets really old.
    Look around, explore. Figure out what gets you excited, and pursue it. Don’t spend too much time in a job or company you don’t like. Life is too short. Don’t settle. Don’t ever forget that the company didn’t give you your license, the Coast Guard did, and they can take it away. Don’t ever jeopardize your license for any company.
    I’ll leave the sea project question to the academy guys, I’m not one.

Siberfire,