Deep Sea to Tugs--- Has anyone made the jump or considering?

I have my second mate unlimited and I’m awaiting a test date for 1600 ton master. I have been sailing deep sea for five years and I am considering making a move over to tugs. I know there has been discussion on this site before about breaking into the towing industry, but I am curious to hear from anyone who has crossed over from deep sea.
As many people know, second mate aboard a container ship is a very comfortable job. So I’m not going to lie, the idea of starting as deckhand, and working harder for less money is not a big selling point for me. However, I feel that once you put your time on deck completeing the TOAR and finally get the towing endorsement it may all pay off once you get up in the wheelhouse. I am drawn to tugs for many reasons, the boat handeling and a steady 14/14 rotation being the two biggest factors.
I’m looking for any advice as I weigh my options and try to map out some kind of career path in my head. I’m ready for something different than ocean crossings, and I’ve tried DP and hated siting still for weeks on end. Tugs seem like something I will enjoy and be able to make a good living doing. I know that tugs are a different ball game than deep sea, and I am willing to start out at the bottom again and work my way up. I took and AB job on a tramp steamer to west africa when i first got out of school, I’m not afraid to work hard and put my time in, I guess I’m just wondering if it’s worth it at this point in my career.