Daily Rate for a new hire

Hello all! I am new as a member to this forum. There is a great wealth of information on here, thanks for that! I have a few question for you guys as I am trying to get into the offshore oil industry. I have been looking at many companys down on the gulf coast and am starting to talk seriously to a few of them with the hopes of an interview in the next week or so and really have no idea on what an average wage for my credentials is. I have around 2000 days at sea on large commercial fishing vessels’ 600 ton 200 foot, and some tug boat experience. I hold a 100 ton master and a 200 ton mate, both near coastal with an unlimited radar endorsment. I have experience handling the large fishing vessels as I did not need a license because they were “uninspected fishing vessels”. All of my time is in the Atlantice Ocean thow. The point that I am trying to get at here is what I should be looking to make a day down there as a 100 master 200 ton mate on a crew boat or utility boat?

$350/day and up.

Thank you anchorman! I hope to get into the industry at that level and continue on up the hawspipe! Im only 27 and have many many years at sea ahead of me! Also I would like to ask if anyone has heard of International Offshore and if so are they a good company? I know alot of you guys work for Chouest and I would love to get a job there but I need to get my foot in the door somewhere and International is working hard to recruit me.

$270-$350 is more realistic. <br><br>If anybody is paying more then $350 starting out I would like to know.

Maybe so. I just know about what positions pay, not the people trying to get a position…that’s usually a matter of experience when getting hired, but it doesn’t take long to advance if you prove that you can hold your own pecker. 450/day for LNG Tug masters with the small license. Otto candies is paying in the middle of that range for ABs $305 or 310/day.