Confused New Guy Could Use Some Help

Hello All,

I am looking to jump into the industry. I spent four years in the Navy and walked away with NO sea time (visited the desert though). I am currently an over-the-road flatbed driver working for a Wisconsin based company but I live in Florida.

I already have my TWIC and will be knocking out my Cert of Fitness and drug screen when I get home so I can make the drive down to Miami and apply for my MMD. Then I am going to take my Basic Safety Training at MPT in Fort Lauderdale, hoping it qualifies to use my GI Bill.

Is this all I need to get started? I am pretty baffled by all the different licenses and qualifications, but I am pretty sure I have sorted it out. I just want to be sure I am on the right track.

I am considering SIU as well, but I have no desire to do their apprenticeship program. My interest is in a deep water job in the deck department and working my way up to the bridge, but I’ll take most anything to get started. I am not looking for easy money, I’ve spent most of the winter in single digit and subzero temps throwing straps and tarps. I like to get down and dirty and work hard. I’m hoping I am looking at the right industry.

Thanks in advance for the help!

-DocV

Im not trying to bust on you but this question must of have been answered 100 times on this forum! Did you look at other posts? Why don’t the Mods come up with standard thread listing how to get started in the industry? Good luck! Just Stay the course.

Yes, I have been reading through them. But… I am still a bit confused. Every time I think I get it figured out, it seems there is another twist. I just want to make sure I have an understanding of the basic requirements.