Chouest v Rigdon

Any thoughts in this community regarding Rigdon? I’ve got job offers from both Chouest and Rigdon and I’m trying to decide. I’m pretty much thinking Chouest but just don’t know enough about the green pickle boats to make a best choice. I have noticed that there are little if any comments about Rigdon on this forum. I do know that Rigdon was just sold.<br><br>I’ve got several years of experience working in the oil patch but it has been a while, so I’m not looking for “what’s it like down there” info.<br><br>Thanks for any input!<br><br>Capt_Anonymous

There is no comparison to make.

Lee,<br><div>What does that mean? I know you work for EC but are you also a fanboy?</div>

I currently am on my second hitch at Rigdon and can sum up my experience in two word. Underwelmed,unimpressed. This is the second hitch that I’ve had to go down on deck and be a rigger as a mate because they pulled off a deckhand. I’m looking to get the hell out here myself. Capt.lee if you could drop me aline at jegregg@att.blackberry.net so I could ask some advice I’d sure appreciate it. I’m in fourchon right now.
Doc

It seriously sucks to lose a member of your crew, but if after they pulled the deckie off your boat was still compliant with the manning requirements of the COI then you were lucky to enjoy having an extra hand aboard.<br><br>In my experience in the Gulf of Mexico most mates, including myself, were always on deck, rigging cargo, cleaning tanks, working lines, chipping, painting, side by side with the ABs and OSs. If that causes you grief, you’re likely to be disappointed anywhere you go to work in this industry.

Really? Because that’s not the story I’ve been hearing out here. If that’s the case then I shan’t whine anymore. But others have been telling me it’s messed up. Honestly my biggest beef is not getting trained in the wheelhouse.