Apprentice mate steersman test question?

I have a 100 ton inland master. I want to get my apprentice mate steersman endorsement (western rivers). I was just told that I might not have to take all the test modules on the exam since I already have a 100 ton inland. Is that true? I figured the exam was the exam and it didn’t matter what you already had. Can anyone shed a little light on this? Thanks. Bell47

You need a 200 Ton mate atleast to get an apprentice mate endorsement. I took the class. Its was 2-3 days long.

[QUOTE=“NYBoatman;116708”]You need a 200 Ton mate atleast to get an apprentice mate endorsement. I took the class. Its was 2-3 days long.[/QUOTE]

Really? You can’t get apprentice mate before you have a mate license?

I think it is something like 12 or 18 months on deck on tugs. Look it up in the CFR…

You need to have the 200 ton mate or have the certificate saying you passed the course along with 360 days on a tugboat. Then you have to be hired as an apprentice mate for 360 days to get your mate of towing and a completed toar.

If you look at the CFR’s you can actually get an apprentice steersman endorsement with a 100 ton mates license. In other words, you don’t need the 200 ton mate. The 100 ton is the lowest level license for the steersman.

After going through the steers man and 200 ton mate courses and sea time requirements I would recommend just going straight for a 500 ton mate and getting the TOAR signed off. You don’t even have to mess with the steersman for 360 days. The other catch with the steersman is if you’re sailing as a deckhand while you have your TOAR signed off make sure your company will list you as apprentice mate steersman on your sea service letter. The NMC will not give you the 360 days if you’re sea service letter says you’re AB.

Good luck!