Apprentice mate info

I have a 200 ton master license and I am about to take the apprentice mate of towing course and was wondering how hard it would be to get a job as a training mate at a towing company. It has been years since I worked tugs but I would like to get away from the oilfield. My tug time is mostly on ship assist tugs and that is what I would like to be on. If anyone has any suggestions please let me know. Thanks

You would be a lot better off testing for your 500 ton and then only needing to complete the TOAR and 30 days of observer time. Much easier path to the towing license.

that’s the only way to go. I have seen others struggle for years other ways. The apprentice mate system only works if a company will bring you on strictly as a trainee.

I am a little wary of spending the money it takes to upgrade. I have already had a 10% pay cut and the way it is looking it might not be the worst of what is to come. Aren’t most ship assist tugs under 200 tons? Am i wasting my time without a 500 ton?

dollar for dollar it’s not worth getting anything else. That way you have a license you can go work on other vessels with as well.

[QUOTE=Dawn patrol;155986]I am a little wary of spending the money it takes to upgrade. I have already had a 10% pay cut and the way it is looking it might not be the worst of what is to come. Aren’t most ship assist tugs under 200 tons? Am i wasting my time without a 500 ton?[/QUOTE]

Regardless of their tonnage a Master of Towing covers the boat. The issue is how fast you get said MoT. How long do you have to serve as an apprentice mate, 12 months? 18 months? If you get a 500 ton license then all you need to do is a TOAR and some observer time and if your a Gould boat handler that shouldn’t take long at all. What cost is involved? Apply and test, nothing to it.